Back to All Events

IRIS Orchestra: Catch a Rising Star

Stravinsky: The Fairy’s Kiss
Korngold: Violin Concerto
Tchaikovsky: Suite No. 3

Buy Tickets Here

Our season closes with the invigorating energy that comes of mingling musical traditions. Stravinsky, a firebrand who changed the world of music forever, paid homage to his Russian predecessors with The Fairy’s Kiss, composed to mark the 35th anniversary of Tchaikovsky’s death. Erich Wolfgang Korngold was an Austrian-born child prodigy; by eleven, he was composing for the Vienna Court Opera and was hailed a “musical genius” by Gustav Mahler. In demand as a film composer as early as 1934, Korngold was in Hollywood composing the score for “Robin Hood” when his Vienna home was seized by the Germans; he often said that an accident of history saved his life. Korngold elevated the genre of the film score to high art, going on to win three Academy Awards, but eventually returned to his first love, concert music. This concert – and the season – closes with Tchaikovsky’s Suite No. 3. Originally conceived as a symphony, the suite that emerged was an enormous success; the composer wrote to his patron that he had “never experienced such a triumph.”